I’m back!

Sorry for such a long silence. Since the last time we spoke a lot of things have happened in my life, chief among them, my wedding! Yup, I am now a married woman. Then directly after the wedding I fell ill for two weeks and was totally miserable. Happy nuptials to me. Anyway, I’m feeling better now and I thought I ought to come back and say hello!

My garden is growing well now that we finally have the full heat of the summer coming on. I have many green tomatoes on the vine that I am anxiously looking forward to.

My sunflowers are also finally blooming along with the lavender. I think I will dry the lavender and make it into sachets to help keep the moths out of our blanket chest in the next couple of weeks.

My sempervivums have expanded enormously since I first planted them! Looking at the full pot, I think it would be a really fun project to make a hanging wall of planted sedums. Maybe next year.

Speaking of crafting projects, I have one to share. I knit my brother a squid from “Amigurumi Knits”. It is going to be his Christmas present. Man, I love that book. I’ve already knit the anglerfish from it and I want to knit the octopus, jellyfish, jackalope and so many more!

My parents are in town this week so the Cowboy (my husband) and I met them for dinner at Waddell’s, a local restaurant that has been featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. This means that I have made it to four Washington state restaurants on the DDD list-Pam’s Trinidadian Caribbean Kitchen, The Big Star Diner, Mike’s Chili Parlor, and Waddell’s. All of the restaurants have been good, but I think my favorite was Pam’s up in Seattle’s U-District. A friend and I have set a goal of trying to go to all of the Washington restaurants on the list. Wish us luck!

copyright Food Network

copyright Food Network

Leave a Reply

