Girasole

I am lucky to have a lot of crafty, talented friends and for my wedding several of them pulled their hands to use. One of them was my maid of honor and my sister in all but blood who has been a fellow knitter with me since we were in high school. She chose to knit something for me…and not just anything…an EPIC circle shawl with the design of my favorite flower, Girasole by Jared Flood. Girasole means Sunflower in Italian. Sunflowers were the main flowers in my wedding and a flower that I have grown ever summer that I was able to stick a seed in the ground, so this shawl has a lot of sentimental value to me besides the fact that it is a gorgeous design.

Here it is folded on a chair.

A close up of those beautiful petals!

Fully spread out on the couch. It is such a cheery, sunny color! It makes me smile just to look at it!

Any ideas on how to wear a circular shawl? I know it is probably more practical as a blanket (especially with my just over 5 foot frame), but I’d love to try wearing it around on a cold winter day.

Leave a Reply

