Flying Carpet Door Booth

Now that sounds confusing, doesn’t it? Let me clarify. Recently an owner of a local bakery/lounge-to-be sent out a request for booth designs for her new business. She is planning to build booths out of old doors. I thought this sounded like an awesome idea and immediately thought about geometric designs as a way to show off the paneling and lines of a door. I settled on oriental carpets as my inspiration.

Here are some pictures that I looked at while trying to put together my design:

 

I sketched in black and white so that the designs would be clear and so that she could picture whatever color scheme would work with her bakery/lounge, but suggested colors reminiscent of the carpets themselves…

In retrospect, looking at these both, I should have mocked them up in color so that they grabbed the eye more…Oh well. Even if she doesn’t like my design, my time wasn’t wasted. I enjoyed the process and if I ever get the chance to paint a door, this is how I’ll do it.

 

Leave a Reply

