RiverLit-a funky, local zine

RiverLit is a literary zine published as an offshoot of the Riverspeak, an online artistic community based out the Spokane area. It features poetry, short stories and art by local artists. This may surprise you but Spokane has a burgeoning poetry community with poetry slams and a weekly Broken Mic event at Neato Burrito where anyone brave enough to take the stage and perform, can.

I have been submitting poetry to RiverLit for quite some time now…The most recent RiverLit is RiverLit 6! It is available for purchase online here and also in store at Aunties Bookstore and Boo Radley’s in downtown Spokane. Online you can look through the book in a preview setting, though the font is very small so it is a bit hard to read. It might be better browse in store.

To give you a preview, this is what I have included in this latest edition.

i must have kissed the sun last night

i must have kissed the sun last night
that moment-light flaring low on the horizon
i must have stood on my tiptoes
leaned out over the trees
and brushed my lips over that fiery cheek
goodnight

i must have kissed the sun last night
this morning I woke
with my mouth blushing red
embers ignite when I speak
drifting in the air
tiny suns that dim and die
or singe and scar my skin
tiny kisses from the sun in return

i must have kissed the sun last night
my strawberry lips ache when I drink lemonade
the sugar tingles over skin
like electricity- solar power
pleasure/pain
a loving sunburn

i’m going to kiss the sun tonight
freckles on my nose
sparks on my tongue
i’ll turn my back on the east
and walk to the horizon
sol spilling rays to caress my face

i’m going to kiss the sun tonight
dark to dawn
til i light the sky

2 thoughts on “RiverLit-a funky, local zine

  1. I love your riff ‘i must have kissed the sun last night’–what a rhythm it sets up. Very nice, indeed. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

