Washing Alpaca

In around my busyness I have been washing alpaca fleeces! I am using the same method that I used when washing the Suffolk sheep fleece previously. I have to say that since alpaca doesn’t have lanolin it is so much easier to clean. I am using a much smaller wash bin and I do not have to wash and rinse it nearly so many times.

I am also washing some lovely brown alpaca fleece that I am going to spin and then knit into a present for Luke’s aunt to thank her for entering my MIL into the drawing to win the alpacas. I am thinking a lacy cowl to keep her warm on cold nights in the Okanagon. Alpaca is crazy warm better even than wool!

In other news, I have learned to can green beans, been picking strawberries, and scrubbing the outside of the house. Luke is working hard on converting our shed into a chicken coop (pictures to follow!) and we had a wonderful but quick visit from my lovely parents. I hope you all had a wonderful Labor Day Weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

