Plein Air Painting

Plein air or outdoor painting and sketching season is slowly trickling away. Rain and cold make it difficult to sit outside for long periods at a time and to continue sketching things not in the house requires some creativity such as using the inside of your car as shelter and parking it in interesting places, sketching in door ways or places with an overhang, and rampant abuse of your local coffee shop for example. I thought I would post a picture of one of my last summer outdoor sketches. This apartment building is across the way from the Corbin Art Center. It is one of many old brick buildings in Spokane that has been re-purposed many times as can be seen by the large R sign on top of the roof and the decorative crests along the top edge of the building. I wonder what its story is?

I painted this on a gorgeous sunny afternoon while sitting on a grassy hill. Perfection!

2 thoughts on “Plein Air Painting

  1. I work in Marycliff Center, which up until the early 80s was a Catholic girls’ high school, and is right next to the Corbin Art Center. I drive by this apartment building every day. Good job! Have you been into the Moore-Turner Gardens there? Gorgeous, and historical. And the view of the city is amazing.

    • I love the Marycliff Center! So beautiful! I have been in the Moore-Turner Gardens quite a few times and I agree, they are gorgeous. The park is one of my favorite viewpoints of the city.

Leave a Reply

