Fighting off the Dark with Baked Goods and Flowers

We are coming into the shortest days of the year as we creep up on the Winter Solstice. The sun is gone by 3:00 on overcast days. It has been rainy and grey and I have been cozying up, making use of my Thanksgiving leftovers. Turkey noodle soup has been plentiful here. I recently made sour cream chocolate chip muffins to use up the sour cream I bought during the pre-Thanksgiving sales.

IMG_5248

IMG_5251

I used this recipe from the Curvy Carrot. It was the first time that I ever made muffins using sour cream. They are quite good, though I find I like them hot from the oven more than cool.

 

These mums given to me as a hostess gift for Thanksgiving have been brightening up the house with blooming life when everything outside is bare and brown.

IMG_5267

 

And now for some craftiness!

Do you remember the fiber I was spinning in the last post? I finished it! It is superwash merino. It makes me think of goth fashion and I’m really not sure what to make of it.  Do you have any idea?

IMG_5247

Leave a Reply

