Granola

IMG_5264

I like to have granola with yogurt for breakfast on most mornings. The problem is, I am really picky when it comes to granola. I don’t really like it to have nuts or dried fruit in it and I don’t like it to be too sugary. As you can imagine, this makes finding a good granola a bit tricky. I’ve found that Honey Bunches Just the Clusters is an easily available delicious option. The one problem is that it is $4 for a tiny box! Since it is so simple in composition I decided I should try to make my own granola.

For my first try I used this recipe from HillBilly Housewife. It turned out pretty well (not completely sogged with vegetable oil which is how my very very first try to make granola over a year ago), but is still missing some of the flavor of the boxed granola. I’m going to continue to tinker with the recipe until it is just perfect!

I also have started another crafting project: a basket made of plastic bags to hold my yarn (I have a lot of yarn as you may have guessed and a lot of plastic bags). I gathered some colorful plastic bags, rolled them into narrow cylinders and began to coil them around each other, tacking them in place with scrap yarn. I have gotten as far as the base of the basket and am just beginning to stack the coils on top of each other to make the walls of the basket.

IMG_5234

IMG_5236

Leave a Reply

