Huckleberry Knits Fiber Club

EEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! I am so excited! Molly got me a 3 month subscription to Huckleberry Knits Fiber Club. We first encountered Huckleberry knits at the Black Sheep Gathering. We frolicked in her booth and I have a little Huckleberry Knits fiber horde in my craft room, so of course I was thrilled to add to the pile. I am like a dragon with her horde when it comes to fiber and yarn!

After anxious waiting in December my first shipment arrived!

IMG_5525

It is a BFL or Blue Faced Leicester fiber, which is springy and soft. The colorway is City of Ys which I believe is a book reference. I love the colors and I think I might make a shawlette out of it if I get good yardage!

January’s shipment is a gorgeous Wensleydale braid in the Lady Mary colorway, which is a reference to Downton Abbey, a period drama renown for its rich costuming and interior design.

IMG_5468IMG_5471

Wensleydale is a long wool sheep known for having a beautiful shine. However, it is not the softest yarn I have ever felt. It is supposed to make good socks (the wool is very durable) and also to be good for weaving. I am not sure what to do with it. Perhaps a hat and if the wool proves to be too itchy I could put a liner in…What do you think? Have any of you worked with Wensleydale before?

I have one shipment left and I am waiting impatiently for it to arrive at the end of the month. I wonder what it will be?

Leave a Reply

