Wipe Canvases

IMG_5763

This is an imaginary portrait (of a non-existent person!) that was part of the show at the coffee house. It started out as a “wipe canvas.” Wipe canvas is a term that I have just made up. See whenever I am painting with acrylics I feel really bad about having left over paint because once it dries, it can’t be resuscitated. I can never predict how much paint I need and if I try to use up the leftover paint on my painting it frequently ruins it…so instead I use the leftover paint to experiment with color and brush stokes on another canvas. Because I am working without a plan in mind, it is very freeing and I love to let the paint suggest what I should paint. This turned into a portrait. I did end up using newer paints to finish up this piece so it isn’t purely leftover paint.

IMG_5762

This is another of my wipe canvases, far more abstract and kooky than my previous one. The color scheme was set by the paint that I had left over. I originally started the artwork with it in the horizontal position, but I set it aside at one point to continue the work on another piece of art and when I looked down I realized that it looked far better in a vertical orientation! Towards the end I had a nagging feeling that it still needed something and finally I decided that the final touch was for my signature to be yellow!  I enjoy working with acrylics because, unlike watercolor, layering and re-painting is easier and creates exciting effects rather than mud.

IMG_5721

This is a wipe canvas in progress. I have no idea where it is going to go! Keep an eye here to see updates!

Leave a Reply

