Garden Fever

IMG_5835

It has been all garden, all the time around here lately now that night temperatures have started to stay above freezing consistently. All of these plants are in the process of being hardened off on my deck. Last night I even left tomatoes out on the deck! One tomato, Siberian, already has two tiny green fruits on it. I bought it because it is supposed to be able to set fruit at 38 degrees (It is from Russia) and thus far it looks promising.

IMG_5844

These are my potatoes that I am growing in a pot to protect them from the voles. I am going to hill up dirt as the greenery grows.

IMG_5847

We finally got our deer fence up-the green plastic mesh below and an almost invisible black mesh above. We haven’t gotten the gate done yet but we haven’t had any problems with four legged visitors yet.  The plant outside the fence is rhubarb and since it poisonous I doubt the deer will bother it.

IMG_5848

Here’s a closer look at the fence. We used small trees that I thinned out of my in-law’s back yard strapped to t-post to hold up the mesh fencing.

IMG_5850

Here is a look at my garden! I’ve separated it out into beds and have been trying to use cardboard and the plastic bags that my potting soil came in to keep down the weeds. The milk jugs are left over from when I needed to cover the plants at night. You can see the two wooden raised beds I built and I built one concrete block bed for watermelon.

IMG_5851

In this bed, I’ve planted carrots, Egyptian walking onions, and radishes.

IMG_5852

The radishes are “Easter Eggs” and thus far have been delicious-sweet and spicy. I have heard that radish leaves are quite good to eat so I am looking forward to the chance to try them.

IMG_5855

IMG_5856

Walking onions form scapes on the top of the plant leaves that cause the plant to fall over where it then grows a new plant. This is how the plants “walk” across a garden.

IMG_5858

Scape coming out of its covering. The scapes and leaves are edible as well as the bulbs.

IMG_5859

I haven’t tried them yet, but I think they will delicious!

2 thoughts on “Garden Fever

Leave a Reply

